MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE PROPERTY INSTITUTE OF NEW ZEALAND

Meeting held Wednesday 10th July at the Millenium Hotel, Queenstown at 4.30pm.

Attendees present: Approximately 60 members Chair: Phil Hinton (President)
Assisting: David Clark (CEO)

Minutes: Tui Hunter (Board Secretary)

Welcome

The meeting began at 4.30pm.

The President, Phil Hinton, welcomed all attendees to the AGM of the Property Institute of New Zealand and introduced himself.

He outlined the rules of the meeting and meeting procedures to follow.

1. Apologies

Apologies received were as follows:

Messrs Bill Cleghorn, Bryce Barnett, Brian Stafford-Bush, Graham Horsley, Gordon Davies, Malcolm Hanna, Roy Evans, Peter Ward

Motion

That the apologies as listed be received.

Proposed: Terry Naylor Seconded: Chris Orchard

CARRIED

2. Minutes of Previous AGM – 13th June 2012 in Auckland

The minutes of the 2011 AGM held on Wednesday13th June in Auckland, had been previously circulated via the Institute's website.

Motion:

That the minutes of the AGM held on 13th July be taken as read and confirmed as a true and correct record.

Proposed: Marvin Clough Seconded: Tim Dick

CARRIED

3. Receive and Adopt the Annual Report for year ended 31 December 2012

The President referred to his report which was included in the Annual Report as a joint report with the President of NZIV and which had been circulated to all members via the website, prior to the AGM. Copies were also made available at the registration desk today.

Motion:

That the Property Institute of NZ Annual Report for the year ended 31 December 2012 be adopted and approved.

Proposed: Nigel Kenny Seconded: Patrick O'Reilly CARRIED with acclamation.

4. Review of Financial Performance & Financial Position to 31 December 2012

David Clark spoke to the financial statements for the year ending 31 December 2012 by way of overhead power point representation. He referred in particular to the reported loss this year but this was being addressed through new initiatives the last part of the year. He also spoke on PETL (Property Education and Training Limited) and the Quality Assurance Accreditation Scheme.

Motion

That the audited financial statements for the year ending 31 December 2012 be approved.

Proposed: Gerard Logan Seconded: Terry Naylor

CARRIED

Appointment of Auditors

The recommendation from the Board was that Messrs Grant Thornton be re-appointed auditors for the current financial year ending 31 December 2013.

Motion:

That Grant Thornton be re-appointed as the Property Institute of NZ auditors until the end of the current financial year 31 December 2013.

Proposed: Phil Hinton Seconded: Tim Dick

CARRIED

5. Announcement of Appointment of Board Members

The President announced the following as PINZ Board Members for 2013-2014:

Phil Hinton, Greg Ball, Terry Naylor, Marvin Clough, Blue Hancock, Ian Campbell, Patrick O'Reilly, Tim Dick and Phillip Merfield (independent director),

6. Notices of Motion

None received.

7. Awards

The presentation to Award winners in the various categories would be made at the conference dinner on Thursday 11th July.

PINZ Life Membership - Peter Mahoney and Paul Keane

Fellowships 2012

Nicki Bilbrough, Matthew Taylor, Jeremy Wichman, David Townsend, Dick Bennison

All awards were confirmed by ACCLAMATION.

8. General Business

None notified or raised from the floor.

9. Closure of Meeting

Phil Hinton thanked everyone for attending and expressed his sincere thank to fellow Board members, staff of National Office, business partners and sponsors and in particular, all members of the Institute.

The meeting closed at 4.50pm.